Executive Committee

The Executive (exec for short) deals with the day to day running of the Association, formulating policy for ratification by the members, fielding enquiries from members and managements, representing members on other bodies and committees, publishing the Association’s magazine and other publications, setting up members’ meetings, entertainment, classes and organising the membership and finances of the Association.

Further detailed work and projects is often carried out by specific Working Groups

Members of the Executive:

Richard Pilbrow's picture

Richard Pilbrow | President

Richard is member #1 and helped to set up both the ALD and its forerunner, the Society of British Theatre Lighting Designers, in 1961.

Previously a chairman of the ALD, he now maintains his links and input into the association as its President.

Rick Fisher's picture

Rick Fisher | Vice President

Rick is an elected director and board member until the 2023 AGM.

As a previous Chair of the Association, Rick now fulfils a more ceremonial role as Vice President promoting the work and benefits of the ALD and handing out the occasional award.

Johanna Town's picture

Johanna Town | Chair

Johanna is an elected director and board member until the 2022 AGM.

Having been a professional rep for a number of years, Johanna took over as ALD Chair in January 2018.

Mark Jonathan's picture

Mark Jonathan | Deputy Chair

Mark is an elected director and board member until the 2021 AGM.

A busy international lighting designer, Mark also acts as Deputy Chair, and writes a popular column in Focus each edition.


David Ayton's picture

David Ayton | Professional Representative

David is an elected director and board member.  He works as a programmer for theatre and opera, and a console trainer for ETC.

As the professional representative for those not working as designers - he is the point of contact for production electricians, programmers, technicians, touring crew, venue staff etc.  

Lucy Carter's picture

Lucy Carter | Professional Representative

Lucy is an elected director and board member.  She is the point of contact for any professional or affiliate members that are working as designers.

She is also Chair of the Professional Working Practice working group which is responsible for developing documents to guide members and their clients in what to expect from each other.

Nick Moran's picture

Nick Moran | Education Representative

Nick is an elected director and board member until the 2023 AGM.

He also acts as the Executive representative and head of the working group concerned with the education of future practitioners in both Higher and Further Education. He also sits on the board of Skillscene which aims to influence, promote and support the provision and  uptake of high quality, industry relevant, continuing professional development for theatre workers. 

Stuart Porter's picture

Stuart Porter | Companies' Representative

Stuart is an elected director and board member until the 2021 AGM.

With over 25 years of experience in the industry, Stuart is company members' representative and acts as a contact point for all the Corporate, Commercial and Non-profit members of the ALD helping to connect them with our individual members to offer meetings, training and other benefits.

Kelli Zezulka's picture

Kelli Zezulka | Editor of Focus Magazine

Kelli is an elected director and board member until the 2022 AGM.

She commissions, compiles and layouts each edition of Focus, the ALD's in-house members' magazine.  if you are interested in writing an article for Focus, you can contact her at editor@ald.org.uk 

Iain Quinn | Meetings Team

Iain is an elected director and board member until the 2022 AGM.

He is currently part of the Meeting & Events team, helping to organise networking, training and social events for members.

Mark White's picture

Mark White | Treasurer

Mark is an elected director and board member until the 2021 AGM.

He became Treasurer in 2014 and brings with him a wealth of experience of from his time as treasurer of the Showlight Quadrennial symposium of light and Chair of the Association of British Theatre Technicians.

Steve Huttly's picture

Steve Huttly | Member

Steve is an elected director and board member until the 2023 AGM.

Having worked in Technical Theatre Higher Education for over 20 years, he serves on the Awards working group.

Zoe Spurr's picture

Zoe Spurr | Equity Representative

Zoe acts as the ALD contact with the Equity Directors and Designers committee and as part of this represents lighting designers' interests within their union.  Her current term runs through until mid-2021. If you have specific Equity enquiries - equity@ald.org.uk

Nick Woolley | BECTU Representative

Nick acts as the ALD contact with BECTU, representing the interests of our members within the union.  

Sofia Alexiadou | Working Group Chair

Sofia leads the ALD Awards working group that organises the various awards the Association is involved in.  This includes both our well regarded Michael Northen Bursary and the Lightmongers' Award for Entertainment Lighting Design.

Jack Wills's picture

Jack Wills | Students Representative

Jack's role is to act as a point of contact for current and future students of live performance lighting and video and to help them find their bearings in the ALD membership and also the world of work.  

Charlotte Burton's picture

Charlotte Burton | Working Group Chair

Charlotte is Chair of the Lumiere Scheme Working Group, for which she was the first recipient of funding through the scheme in 2015.

She is now leading the team looking to establish it as a long term project that can attract funding for future opportunities for developing artists.

Tom Lightbody's picture

Tom Lightbody | Working Group Chair

Tom is chair of the the ALD's Sustainability Working Group. Our art uses many elements and resources that are at the heart of the sustainability debate. We must acknowledge that the way we work will have to change. 

Jai Morjaria's picture

Jai Morjaria | Working Group Chair

Jai chairs the Diversity (Representation & Inclusion) Working Group which is investigating how to remove the barriers of the structural inequality within our industry to enable anyone who wishes to make a career in live performance lighting or projection.

He is also the appointed contact for queries about our Stage Sight related work, initiatives, case studies and/or other related enquiries.

Mig Burgess's picture

Mig Burgess | Working Group Chair

Mig is the Co-chair of the Well-being committee.  She has a research interest in mental health and well-being in our industry and has worked on 2 large industry studies and authors well-being guidance notes with the ABTT of which she is the Co-chair.  Mig is a Mental Health First Aid Instructor, and a proud mental health patient: diagnosed with BiPolar disorder she has years of lived experience.  Mig is also chair of the AAPTLE well-being working group and a trustee of Backup.

robertoesquenazi's picture

robertoesquenazi | Working Group Chair

Roberto recently graduated from The Royal Academy of Dramatic Art, where he completed a BA in Technical Theatre and Stage Management specialising in lighting and video. He is excited to be joining the Student Working group as Chair and looks forward to welcoming new faces to the ALPD

Peter Mumford's picture

Peter Mumford | Member

Peter is a former ​ALD Chair from 2011 - 2017 and now has an overview of the work of the Executive and the development of the Association.


john leventhall's picture

john leventhall | Association Development

With career experience of the corporate retail world, arts and charities organisations, and in his youth, theatre lighting, John is the person who investigates and develops the future arc of the ALD's structure, organisation and offer to members and non-members alike. He also acts as Company Secretary.